It’s time for the WTEF Tennis Ball! The Washington Tennis & Education Foundation (WTEF) is hosting our most important annual fundraising event on Friday, May 19, 2017 at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in Washington, DC.  The day begins with a VIP Round Robin Tennis Tournament and is topped off with an elegant, fun-filled evening of silent and live auctions, dinner and dancing. This million-dollar gala supports WTEF’s academic and athletic enrichment programs for underserved children in Washington.

Sponsorship opportunities range from $25,000-$4,000 with an array of benefits. Click here to learn more about sponsorship opportunities or Sponsor Now. Sponsors who commit by March 21 will be included in the printed event invitation mailed to more than 4,000 supporters. Best of all, sponsors have the satisfaction of knowing that their support is helping underserved children and youth achieve brighter futures.

The Tennis Ball is chaired this year by Manuel Ortiz and his wife, Kristin Solheim, and The Honorable John Breaux and his wife Lois. Mr. Ortiz is the incoming Chair of the Board of WTEF and former Senator Breaux is a Vice Chair.

Click to Purchase Tickets

A highlight of the evening will be the presentation of our awards to our distinguished honorees and remarks by a current WTEF student.

Ken Solomon

American Tennis Association

Richey Reneberg

Ken Solomon, Distinguished Achievement Award

The Distinguished Service Award is being given to Ken Solomon, President of Tennis Channel, the only 24-hour, television-based multimedia destination dedicated to the professional sport and passionate lifestyle of tennis. Established in 2003, the network houses every aspect of the wide-ranging, worldwide tennis community. It also has the most comprehensive single-sport coverage on TV, televising the US Open, Wimbledon, Roland Garros (French Open) and the Australian Open, in addition to a slate of the sport’s most important events, including ATP World Tour and WTA Tour competition, and the Davis Cup, Fed Cup and Hopman Cup.

Click here for full bio.

American Tennis Association, Lifetime Achievement Award

WTEF is honored to bestow the Life Time Achievement Award to The American Tennis Association (ATA). The ATA is the oldest African-American sports organization in the United States. The core of the ATA’s modern mission continues to be promoting tennis as a sport for African-Americans and developing junior tennis players, but the ATA welcomes people of all backgrounds.
The ATA is based in Largo, Maryland, and was founded in Washington, D.C. on November 30, 1916 by a group of African-American businessmen, college professors and physicians as the African-American equivalent to the National Championships.

Click here for full bio.

Richey Reneberg, Champion of Tennis Award

The Champion of Tennis Award will go to Richey Reneberg, who is a decorated former professional tennis player.  Along with Richey’s partner Jim Grabb, they were ranked World No. 1 in doubles and won the 1992 US Open doubles title. He won a second doubles Grand Slam with partner Jared Palmer at the 1995 Australian Open.  Richey has a 6-3 career Davis Cup record. During this time, Richey served our country with great honor as he represented the U.S. in the 1996 Atlanta Olympic Games. Since 2000, Richey has worked for Taconic Capital Advisors, a New York-based investment firm, doing marketing and client service work.

Click here for full bio.

Presenting Sponsor:


Platinum Sponsors:

Hon. John and Lois Breaux

Manny Ortiz and Kristin Solheim / VantageKnight

Gold Sponsors:

Habib and Hind Debs / Advanced Technology Systems Company

Hilton Worldwide

Sharon Marcil and Thomas Monahan

Trisha and Jim Ritzenberg / Cathy and Scot McCulloch

Taconic Capitol

Sam and Marie Woodall

Silver Sponsors:

Mark and Shelley Slade Betts

Edison Electric Institute

Fidelity Investments

The Hanley Foundation

Sarah Jackson and Ian Glazer

Isabel and Jerry Jasinowski

Anne B. Keiser and Douglas Lapp

Bernard Moens and Kimberley Raleigh

NBC4 Washington

Thomas and Cynthea Riesenberg

United States Tennis Association

Bronze Sponsors:

Bryan Corbett

Nancy and John Harris

George Neale

Terry and Wayne Rusch

Robert and Erin Thomson