Richey Reneberg 2018-02-20T15:44:19+00:00

Richey Reneberg,  WTEF Champion of Tennis Award

The Champion of Tennis Award is being given to Richey Reneberg, who is a very decorated former professional tennis player. Richey was a three-time All-American (1985-87) at SMU in Dallas, where he reached the 1986 NCAA singles final. He followed this strong performance up by being named the ATP Newcomer of the Year in 1987. Along with Richey’s partner Jim Grabb, they were ranked World No. 1 in doubles and won the 1992 US Open doubles title. He won a second doubles Grand Slam with partner Jared Palmer at the 1995 Australian Open. His career-high singles ranking in the ATP Tour was No. 20, Richey has a 6-3 career Davis Cup record (5-3 in doubles). In 1995-96 and 1996-97, he was elected to the ATP Tour Player Council. During this time, Richey served our country with great honor as he represented the U.S. in the 1996 Atlanta Olympic Games. For his career, he has captured the US Open men’s 35 title four times. Since 2000, Richey has worked for Taconic Capital Advisors, a New York-based investment firm, doing marketing and client service work. He was inducted into the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Hall of Fame in 2006.


WTEF Champion of Tennis Award

Richey Reneberg, 2017
Katrina M. Adams, 2015
James Blake, 2014
Mark D. Ein, 2013
Jonathan Vegosen, 2012
Gigi Fernandez, 2011
Mary Carillo, 2010
MaliVai Washington, 2010
Andrea Jaeger, 2009
Andre Agassi, 2008
Patrick McEnroe, 2007
Pam Shriver, 2006
Tracy Austin, 2005
Chris Evert, 2004
Rod Laver, 2003
Pauline Betz Addie, 2002
Billie Jean King, 2002
2001, Davis Cup Stars:
Tony Trabert
Gene Scott,
Richey Reneberg,
Charlie Pasarell,
Fred McNair,
Patrick McEnroe,
Tom Gullikson,
Tom Gorman

William H.G. FitzGerald Distinguished Service Award

Ken Solomon, 2017
Senator Shelley Moore Capito, 2016
Alonzo H. Mourning, Jr. , 2015
Rep. Ed Whitfield, 2014
Robert L. Johnson, 2013
Art Monk, 2012
Charles Mann, 2012
Rep. Fred Upton, 2011
Calvin Cafritz, 2010
Sheila Johnson, 2009
Steve Case, 2008
Raymond A. “Chip” Mason, 2007
Rep. Norm Dicks, 2006
Sen. Ted Stevens, 2005
Sen. John B. Breaux, 2003
Hon. William H.G. FitzGerald, 2003

Lifetime Achievement Award

American Tennis Association, 2017
Sylvia and Saul Ritzenberg, 2016
Peter Work, 2015
Paul R. Ignatius, 2013
Donal Dell, 2007

Life Champion Award

Jackie Joyner-Kersee, 2016

Featured Celebrities 1995-2000

Jim Vance, Guillermo Vilas
Donna Shalala,
Tom McMillen, Camille Mosley
John Lloyd, John McEnroe
Luke & Murphy Jensen
Stefan Edberg, Brett Haber
Bud Collins, Jimmy Connors
Art Buchwald, Mary Carillo